PDA

View Full Version : TOO Good To Be True?


01blkgts
01-06-2004, 05:37 AM
whats up fellas, I found this auction for a in-dash Clarion DVD/mp3/ player....I'm really thinking about buying one of these
does it look fishy?
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&category=38649&item=2452715166

thanx

Daemon
01-06-2004, 05:46 AM
probably,
I bought mine for 1,000 online.

chameleon
01-06-2004, 05:57 AM
Is that a DVD player with a built in flip out screen, or is it just a flip out screen that you need to add a seperate player to?

01blkgts
01-06-2004, 06:03 AM
it's a built in dvd/mp3/cd player
single din...

chameleon
01-06-2004, 06:58 AM
sounds too good to be true for only $600.

trdgts
01-06-2004, 07:42 AM
That's cheap. It retails for almost 2 grand. It seems too good to be true.

01blkgts
01-06-2004, 08:20 AM
well, you can get these for around $800-$900 now....

bagodoosh
01-06-2004, 08:21 AM
they've had high retail value, but about a while ago they were in GBs for $900. most places sell it for $1200+.

DoubleS69
01-06-2004, 10:10 AM
i wouldnt trust it. first, the seller only has a 15 rating. second, he's got an email at nycmail.com ... i dunno that doesnt sound too authentic. And I almost bought a pioneer one over the summer retailing at around $1300 for $600 and western union actually called me to tell me there was a chance that it was a scam and that eBay does not secure those transactions. Meaning if you don't get your product, theres nothing you can do about it through eBay. they will not reemberse you or anything.

Its a risk you have to take. If you feel comfortable doing business with him, then go ahead.

01blkgts
01-06-2004, 06:28 PM
thanx for the replies,
DoubleS69 : do you still have the auction link for the pioneer, so i can take a look?

iMouseGTS
01-06-2004, 08:41 PM
Not too long ago I won a bid for the Pioneer motorized touch screen + navi for $1400 new while everyone else sold it for $1800. 2 days later I was refunded my money and no word from the seller. A week later the FBI called me to talk about the sale. Turns out the account was stolen and the seller had be collecting money from used car sales among other things. One guy even sent him $15000 for an is300 that never showed.

Buyer beware.

If anything, ask to do an escrow sale.

pnoygts
01-06-2004, 09:11 PM
i wouldnt buy it!

R K e 1 C A
01-07-2004, 02:12 AM
Try contacting the seller and ask if he/she willing to use www.Escrow.com for such a purchase