PDA

View Full Version : A scammer in our midst?


TunerSalesJBA
07-09-2005, 11:03 AM
http://autotrader.com/fyc/vdp.jsp?car_id=183853081&dealer_id=56567723&car_year=2000&make=TOYOTA&distance=200&lang=en&max_price=11000&model=CELICA&end_year=2006&min_price=3000&certified=&address=30350&search_type=used&advanced=&start_year=2000&isp=y&cardist=13

WTF.....

SickCelica696
07-09-2005, 11:09 AM
yea seriously, if it worked like that I'd have that in my driveway right now. It already sold on ebay though so i dont know what that guy is selling.

TunerSalesJBA
07-09-2005, 11:19 AM
yeah man I just thought I'd inform everyone.. What a sleazy Fu3K to try and pull some **** like that.....especially with such a clean car

rotchcrocket04
07-09-2005, 11:49 AM
anybody call or email him yet? ill bet he's gonna try all the ebay bullshlt and say the car is oversea's and he will have it shipped over but you need to wire him the 6500 first then he will ship the car blah blah blah.

but still, hes using the pictures, and yes, as stated above the car did sell on ebay.

TunerSalesJBA
07-09-2005, 12:12 PM
yeah I tried calling the number and I was going to tell him I wanted to buy it ASAP, lol. Presumedly, the number was disconnected.

keebler197
07-09-2005, 01:02 PM
does the car have an engine?

blitzceli
07-09-2005, 02:05 PM
does the car have an engine?
please read the whole thing, it is a scam... the car already was sold by the REAL owner, and yes it does have an engine

TunerSalesJBA
07-09-2005, 02:33 PM
haha

2kcelicaGT
07-09-2005, 03:48 PM
wtf...agian...its on yahoo autos twice as well...already notified yahoo...this is my vehicle, and still is my vehicle, thou I am trying to sell it currently for $18,000. Yes, it does have an engine, lol, and is a 2000 GTS with actually only 12,000 miles on it since it was replaced last year new due to a hydrolock. This guy is getting rediculous...what an @ss. Thanks for finding this TunerSalesJBA ... and Lowredcruzr sent me a PM with an email where I think he had contacted this individual through one of his MANY postings and the faker wrote back:
-------------------------------------
Hello,

First, I want you to know that I'm from USA but I'm currently in England, London where I'm staying with my son and his wife. My wife died one month ago and I decided to move here because my son is married in England. I want to sell the car because I don't want it in England. I realise that is a cheap price for such a car but my special situation makes me do things that I would't do in normal circumstances and belive me it is not easy at all for me to sell a thing which was one of my dreams during last years. The odometer shows around 46,700 miles. The car is an US model with US specs, it passed the test emissions and comes with all the documents you need to register the car. All of the maintenance work and servicing has been done regularly. It has a Clear Title. The title will be signed and nothorized in your name as soon as the payment will be completed. Condition is great. No damage, no scratches or dents, no hidden defects, and it is as advertised. NON SMOKER! The final price that I want for the car is $6,500 USD (including shipping and handling). I would like to use eBay like a 3rd party for the payment. I am a seal member and that's mean I am backed up for all my auctions on eBay. They (as you can see on eBay site map) develop the program Safe Harbour - Fraud Protection. I pay them fees for that! The car is in USA and it is allready to eBay, they inspected and tested the car to see if the description on eBay matches with the real condition.

Look how they work:

1. I will contact them, and I will send your shipping information to eBay.
2. They will send us mail forms (the forms will be from customer support team) for you about payment.
3. Those forms must be filled by every part of this deal (me and you) with infos that they required.
4. We must submit the forms.
5. After you will inspect the car, eBay will send me the payment infos and I shall pick up the money.

This means a 3rd party.

After you make the payment through eBay they will ship the car and it will take 5 to 7 days tops until you will have the car at your door. They will provide you all the details about the shipping! I will support the shipping taxes, insurance and handling.

If you agree with moving forward with the deal through eBay please email me as soon as possible YOUR FULL NAME, EBAY USER ID AND SHIPPING ADDRESS.

Regards and hear you asap!
"F D" celmaibine01@yahoo.com
----------------------------------------------

Anyway...guess thats what I get for having a tight celica ;)

If anyone is really interested in the car for $18,000 let me know and we can meet up. Thanks! If anyone else sees my car posted anywhere, please let me know! Thank you!

Tim Kane
Holyoke, MA 01040

P.S. -- should I email this guy or what can I do...cause this has got to stop...

blitzceli
07-09-2005, 04:10 PM
just tell him you want to buy it and you will drive where ever he is to pick it up, and thast you will bring the cash with you.. Im serious with in 1 hr from when he reads the email your car will be taken off the ads.. I said that to a guy selling a supra (SAME EXPLAINATION OF WHY HES SELLING) emailed him, then looked back on auto trader at night...gone.. lol

DMoneysGT
07-09-2005, 04:14 PM
Must be pretty flattering for you 2kcelica...you've got one hell of a nice car

2kcelicaGT
07-09-2005, 10:36 PM
flattering, yes, annoying, yes ;) Thanks thou, appreciate the props.

Tim

TunerSalesJBA
07-10-2005, 12:49 PM
yeah 2kcelicagt its some freaking bullsh1t what people do to try to make a dime these days! When I have a car that nice (when business picks up, hopefully) I hope people won't try and do that sleazy **** to me too.

oONoGoAutoOo
07-10-2005, 01:55 PM
damn thats guy. idiot guys trying to scam people! nice car though btw..

trdcelica008
07-10-2005, 02:10 PM
Ya i saw that car before in autotrader or something like that and i actually thought about going for it and i was going to sell my jet skis damn im glad i saw this. Btw why dont you contact auto trader and tell them whats going on or somehow.

TunerSalesJBA
07-10-2005, 04:11 PM
yes, scammers do present a ****ty situation for us guys with nice cars, the only thing I could recommend would be to maybe watermark all pics of your car that you post on the internet...IMHO

SickCelica696
07-10-2005, 04:13 PM
so what would happen at the end of that auction? since he doesnt really have the car...we should call him up and **** with him..

TunerSalesJBA
07-10-2005, 04:41 PM
yeah that would be funny, and tell him we would pay for shipping....

FloWin_Celica
07-10-2005, 04:51 PM
that's how they try to screw ppl over here in europe! I heard the same story blabla england and someone died and **** and 3rd party blabla but it was a 3000gt western union is their best friend. hahahahaha

TunerSalesJBA
07-10-2005, 06:03 PM
yeah, I feel bad for the few, JK FLowin, loyal people in Europe who wouldnt actually screw someone over but are simply trying to sell their car.

AdamVIP
07-10-2005, 09:58 PM
Such a great color. Im originally from Rochester. Best of luck selling the car. Out of curiosity where did you get it painted?

2kcelicaGT
07-10-2005, 11:44 PM
thanks for the props....got it painted by a guy in Waltham, MA 02452 (at the end of my college career) ... the place was called Perfection/Penta Autobody ... had a guy that always worked on my vehicle and did a real nice job.

Thanks!
TIM

2kcelicaGT
07-10-2005, 11:49 PM
P.S. -- my celica is in the cars for sale forum with the title -- " 2000 Toyota GTS Custom Paint/Mods" displaying list of mods and additional pictures ;)

Tim

Superstuddc27
07-11-2005, 12:59 AM
wow... probably someone from this forum? *******s.. if it is, they're probably reading this. Which means... i give you a big F U.

rotchcrocket04
07-11-2005, 07:25 AM
anybody call or email him yet? ill bet he's gonna try all the ebay bullshlt and say the car is oversea's and he will have it shipped over but you need to wire him the 6500 first then he will ship the car blah blah blah.



oooo i sooo called that one!! what do i win? can somebody get a phone number so i can fuk with him:chuckles:?!

TunerSalesJBA
07-11-2005, 11:02 AM
number doesnt work...

Yoda's Master
07-12-2005, 07:29 PM
haha it's gone

lowredcruzr
07-13-2005, 08:55 AM
you should contact the guy and try and buy your own car back just for the hell of it. just screw with him a little

2kcelicaGT
07-13-2005, 03:56 PM
The phone number was fake, but I did email him under my roommates email address and he did reply, so I am going to try to get a name and say I will wire funds to him, so I can scare him by saying I will report him for fraud or something...and I notified AutoTrader so that they would take it down. Someone REAL...buy my CELICA! ;) Thanks for the support guys, please keep your eyes open for further bullsh1t posts...if it aint $18,000, it aint me ;)

TIM