KAYEVO8
09-08-2006, 10:50 AM
Hello Everyone,
I thought I would pass along my experience on Ebay. This was my first experience selling something and of course I have to get targeted. I put my item up for auction and it is worth over $10K. I listed it at $4000. I got an email about 6 hours later from someone claiming that they would purchase my item for $9500 USD and he was from Paris France. He also mentioned that he would want me to shut down my auction if we agreed.
So, I told him that if we can agree on payment terms, etc, then I would agree to shut down the auction. My first red flag was...why is he trying to do this outside of Ebay? I had no intention of selling my item to him outside of Ebay but I did receive another email back saying that he wanted to move forward.
Here comes the sketchy part. He tells me that he got taken for $9000 a month ago and wanted to use an escrow service for the transaction. Ok, sounds somewhat legit. He gave the website and signed his name Alberto Mancini.
So after a bit of research, this is what we found...
the Escrow company (www.wisbech-group.com) is not listed on any search engine but the website does exist.
The user on Ebay shows his location as California.
The Escrow company is in CA.
The contact for this escrow company was someone in Virginia.
The email as I mentioned was signed by Alberto Mancini but the name is account belongs to a guy named Joshua Freedman.
The best part is...the address of this so called Escrow company is K-Mart and it was created on September 6th, 2006.
Who is Alberto Mancini...A famous tennis player in France.
So, to sum it all up, this is the latest and greatest type of fraud going on right now so I figured I would pass it along. An email was sent to this person pretty much telling him he is a fake without saying it and I have not heard back since. Go figure The good 'ol saying applies...it was too good to be true!
So any Ebay users, beware...especially of pugums4!
Take care,
Keely
PS-I just went back to the website and whattya know, no longer there!
I thought I would pass along my experience on Ebay. This was my first experience selling something and of course I have to get targeted. I put my item up for auction and it is worth over $10K. I listed it at $4000. I got an email about 6 hours later from someone claiming that they would purchase my item for $9500 USD and he was from Paris France. He also mentioned that he would want me to shut down my auction if we agreed.
So, I told him that if we can agree on payment terms, etc, then I would agree to shut down the auction. My first red flag was...why is he trying to do this outside of Ebay? I had no intention of selling my item to him outside of Ebay but I did receive another email back saying that he wanted to move forward.
Here comes the sketchy part. He tells me that he got taken for $9000 a month ago and wanted to use an escrow service for the transaction. Ok, sounds somewhat legit. He gave the website and signed his name Alberto Mancini.
So after a bit of research, this is what we found...
the Escrow company (www.wisbech-group.com) is not listed on any search engine but the website does exist.
The user on Ebay shows his location as California.
The Escrow company is in CA.
The contact for this escrow company was someone in Virginia.
The email as I mentioned was signed by Alberto Mancini but the name is account belongs to a guy named Joshua Freedman.
The best part is...the address of this so called Escrow company is K-Mart and it was created on September 6th, 2006.
Who is Alberto Mancini...A famous tennis player in France.
So, to sum it all up, this is the latest and greatest type of fraud going on right now so I figured I would pass it along. An email was sent to this person pretty much telling him he is a fake without saying it and I have not heard back since. Go figure The good 'ol saying applies...it was too good to be true!
So any Ebay users, beware...especially of pugums4!
Take care,
Keely
PS-I just went back to the website and whattya know, no longer there!