PDA

View Full Version : supra for cheap?


blk2zzGts
10-09-2007, 05:32 PM
hi everyone, i recently came upon a post from the autotrader.com with a supra for sale. i emailed the guy and here is his reply....

Hello,
I'm the owner of the 1997 Toyota Supra on which you've recently show interest. The car is in excellent shape and running condition and it has a clean title. The price for the car is $5,500 with shipping and handling included in price. I am located in Houston, TX now and the car will be shipped from here. Shipping will be done via DAS and it will take no more then 2-3 days top (depending on your exact location).
The transaction will be made through SafePay Solutions for our own protection. You will have 5 days to inspect and test drive the car upon arrival with no obligation to buy. If you are interested in the purchase of the car, please get back to me and let know so we can make the deal.

Sincerely,
Justin

does this sound like scam to you? and for $5500 for a twin turbo supra sounds too good to be true

TrD CeLiCa
10-09-2007, 05:44 PM
why so cheap? pictures

awesome
10-09-2007, 05:45 PM
spam!

02slvrgt
10-09-2007, 05:47 PM
the seller is either an idiot or trying to get rid of some pure worthless junk it sounds like.No TT supra should be anywhere near that cheap.At least to my knowledge.

downs0uthfynist
10-09-2007, 05:51 PM
its those peeps from oversea trying take our money with foreign bank account

Linko
10-09-2007, 05:53 PM
yep. theyre giving job offers and as well tryign to buy **** off of people. One tried buying my bike and sent me a check for 7500 and I called the company the check was written through and they said people have been doin that through theyre account and it was a fraud. So i played along and asked the guy to create a paypal account n he said he doesnt have one n wont do it

slvrcelicagt00
10-09-2007, 05:58 PM
yep. theyre giving job offers and as well tryign to buy **** off of people. One tried buying my bike and sent me a check for 7500 and I called the company the check was written through and they said people have been doin that through theyre account and it was a fraud. So i played along and asked the guy to create a paypal account n he said he doesnt have one n wont do it
isn't that some type of financial fraud that is illegal?

crbn blu
10-09-2007, 06:09 PM
Even wrecked Supras go for like twice that amount... therefore SCAM!

MKE
10-09-2007, 06:09 PM
^^yes, but there's no way to track it down and prove it/by the time you do it's to late.


And as for the original post, it's a scam. If anything, tell him your going to be in houston, TX for a business trip/whatever on a certain date and tell him you'll pay him in cash, see what he says.

b1m3x8
10-09-2007, 06:14 PM
I seen someone talking about this ad on a different site. He said he would meet the guy and pay him, now the seller won't return his phone calls. That ad is spam.

scarface
10-09-2007, 06:27 PM
um, well a supra with a 1jz motor setup nicely will run ya anywhere from 7,000 (needs some TLC) to 15,000(ready for battle). Well go to import concern and look up some 2jz supras for yourself. IMO If your paying less than 20,000 its a non turbo, and probably bagged to death. Even POS supras with 7m motors are going for more than 5000. Its a scam man.....

kaminaricelica7
10-09-2007, 06:44 PM
no way...**** ill buy it if thats the case haha

JOHN_B
10-09-2007, 06:54 PM
lol... any supra that sells under 6-5K. is usually a scam.

Nineball
10-09-2007, 06:58 PM
Somebody just posted the same exact thing... word-for-word, about an STI.

scam.

Blue Bomber
10-09-2007, 07:10 PM
:moved:

JustChris
10-09-2007, 08:01 PM
Funny i saw one on craigslist.

"Hello,
I'm the owner of the 2002 Toyota Celica GT-S on which you've recently show interest. The car is in excellent shape and running condition and it has a clean title. The price for the car is $3,200 with shipping and handling included in price. I am located in Houston, TX now and the car will be shipped from here. Shipping will be done via DAS and it will take no more then 2-3 days top (depending on your exact location).
The transaction will be made through SafePay Solutions for our own protection. You will have 5 days to inspect and test drive the car upon arrival with no obligation to buy. If you are interested in the purchase of the car, please get back to me and let know so we can make the deal.

Sincerely,
Andrew"

LoneRedliner
10-09-2007, 08:14 PM
ssccccaaaaaammmmmmmmm

MothTRD
10-09-2007, 10:42 PM
what they all said " scam "

Red Falcon
10-09-2007, 11:09 PM
I found a sick MR-2 for 3g, same thing. I had to email him just to make sure it was a scam :gap:

atrac7GTS
10-09-2007, 11:25 PM
scammmmmmmm...happened to me when i was celica shopping too way back in the day, almost exact same wording too..

marc
10-10-2007, 07:54 AM
zomgdz

I've seen these EXACT WORDS so many times

its a scam for tards

KAT_Ayanami
10-11-2007, 04:12 AM
Let me put it like this (please mods, allow it because all new members seem to be a little lost...)

IF THE CAR IS TOO CHEAP AND IT HAS TO BE SHIPPED, IT IS A FRAUD!!!! THERE IS NO, AND I REPEAT, NO CAR ON THE SELLER'S PART!!
HE IS JUST TRYING TO GET YOUR MONEY AND DISAPPEAR!!!!

And most likely, the guy is a freaking nigerian who lives around NY. He even uses real company names and fake replica webs to try to get people's trust.

Be real and grow up people!! NOTHING is free in life!

Kat.