Install Guides Parts Catalog Gallery Track Times Dyno Database Tech Info Gear

Go Back   NewCelica.org Forum > Celica Discussion > Audio, Electrical, & Security
Favorites Trader Ratings Register Blogs Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Audio, Electrical, & Security Install & Protect Your System Here.

Support NCO
Google
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-21-2003, 05:33 PM   #1
celiboy07
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 458
iTrader: (1)
Send a message via AIM to celiboy07 Send a message via Yahoo to celiboy07
What color is parking brake power wire?

I am trying to install my Pioneer DVD unit (with NO monitor) and it is requiring me to tap the PARKING BRAKE WIRE from the unit into the PARKING BRAKE SWITCH POWER supply side.

I have done a search already, but no clear answers. It was said that I can tap the wire into the clock's wire white/black ground, but I dont need ground I need power. What color is the clock's power wire?

Also another option was to tap it to the parking brake's ground BROWN wire, but I don't need the ground I need parking brake's POWER wire. What color is that one?

If anyone knows either way to tap the wire, please let me know. If not I will have to try trial and error and see if I will blow the unit up. Thanks!
celiboy07 is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2003, 06:47 PM   #2
celiboy07
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 458
iTrader: (1)
Send a message via AIM to celiboy07 Send a message via Yahoo to celiboy07
Nevermind I figured it out.
celiboy07 is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Google
Support the Forums
Old 11-22-2003, 05:34 AM   #3
JohnnyG101
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 377
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via ICQ to JohnnyG101 Send a message via AIM to JohnnyG101 Send a message via Yahoo to JohnnyG101
maybe your could let us in on your findings I know some of us would like to know.
JohnnyG101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2003, 07:10 PM   #4
celiboy07
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 458
iTrader: (1)
Send a message via AIM to celiboy07 Send a message via Yahoo to celiboy07
Quote:
Originally posted by JohnnyG101
maybe your could let us in on your findings I know some of us would like to know.
Sorry about that. Actually, I still dont know which wire it is. I figured how to bybass it on my DVD unit (Pioneer SDV-P7). On my unit, it has front video out and rear video out. The front video out requires me to wire it to the parking brake power wire. The rear does not. I just hooked it up to the rear video out. Therefore, no parking brake wire.

What color wire is the parking brake power is still a mystery to me. Sorry.
celiboy07 is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2003, 08:43 PM   #5
JohnnyG101
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 377
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via ICQ to JohnnyG101 Send a message via AIM to JohnnyG101 Send a message via Yahoo to JohnnyG101
lol its cool, glad its working. I just remember someone else who had the same issue you had and someone told him to click the parking brake up one click and deal with it . lol
JohnnyG101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2003, 01:23 PM   #6
BrianGTS
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DCM f00!
Posts: 8,214
iTrader: (0)
Its odd that they would require you to use a 12v trigger to the unit as most parking brakes are negative trigger. Even so you could have used a relay to reverse the polarity of the parking brake trigger.
BrianGTS is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2003, 12:00 PM   #7
Dj_cElicA
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: odenton, md
Posts: 2,064
iTrader: (0)
i thought u'd just have to ground the wire so u dont have to lift the e brakes whenever u wanna watch dvd's
__________________

tein s-tech springs, front member brace, team moon dual exhaust, trd filter, trd ss, speed source cable bushings, mcculloch hid, es100 195/50/15 (f) 225/50/15 (r)
Dj_cElicA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2003, 12:15 PM   #8
Tyz_Ryde
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 76
iTrader: (0)
Just ground the wire to anything metal to bypass it.
Tyz_Ryde is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Go Back   NewCelica.org Forum > Celica Discussion > Audio, Electrical, & Security

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:32 PM.