Install Guides Parts Catalog Gallery Track Times Dyno Database Tech Info Gear

Go Back   NewCelica.org Forum > Celica Discussion > Performance Mods > ECU Tuning
Favorites Trader Ratings Register Blogs Classifieds Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Support NCO
Google
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-01-2009, 02:51 AM   #1
Gravel
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,891
iTrader: (0)
What sort of OBD protocol do JDM cars use?

Hi guys - I hope somone knows the answer to this - there's a guy in the UK with a JDM Gen 7 that has a CEL. I have tried scanning it with my OBD reader that works on my UK car, but it won't read his. Furthermore, Toyota UK had a go at scanning his car, failed completely and still charged him for scanning it!

So, what diagnostic protocol do JDM cars use?

Cheers.
Gravel is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2009, 04:11 AM   #2
jlitman
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Under a red sun
Posts: 11,169
iTrader: (42)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gravel View Post
Hi guys - I hope somone knows the answer to this - there's a guy in the UK with a JDM Gen 7 that has a CEL. I have tried scanning it with my OBD reader that works on my UK car, but it won't read his. Furthermore, Toyota UK had a go at scanning his car, failed completely and still charged him for scanning it!

So, what diagnostic protocol do JDM cars use?

Cheers.
I thought US imports used the same protocol as JPN (ISO?) but Euro cars used CAN-BUS
__________________
jlitman is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Google
Support the Forums
Old 03-02-2009, 08:19 AM   #3
Avendit
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: uk
Posts: 125
iTrader: (0)
I don't think we are on can-bus, if we were we would see much faster updates than 3/second I'll check next time I have stuff connected up, but pretty sure we are on an ISO standard too.

Gravel, have you tried a software reader rather than hardware thing? they seem so support a wider range of protocols cause its easy to add stuff to software rather than some ROM storage that is manufactured in.

Avendit
Avendit is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2009, 05:16 PM   #4
Gravel
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,891
iTrader: (0)
Hi guys, thanks for the replies.

My UK car is definately ISOxxxx - I've not tried my all singing-all-dancing ELM327 + OBD2007 on a JDM car but I know a non-CAN bus one won't work...
Gravel is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2009, 05:35 PM   #5
2way
Electromagnetic Wave :-h
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: "America's Hometown"
Posts: 14,056
iTrader: (2)
Not positive... but, I think the '03+ are possibly CAN. I don't know about the euro versions, though. They may have been CAN. I know my USDM '02 is ISO.

Either ISO 9141 or CAN for late model Toyotas.
2way is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 11:59 AM   #6
Boosted2.0
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 15,256
iTrader: (19)
Blog Entries: 1
I have Nooooo idea what they used for a protocol on the Japanese cars.

You might call a company like Drew Technologies and see if they know.
__________________
Talk to us for all your 2ZZ performance needs!
We specialize in high end / high HP engines, intake manifolds, exhaust manifolds, suspension, custom wiring, custom turbos, tuning, etc. We can get any part you want, usually for less than you would expect!

WWW.DDPerformanceResearch.com
Boosted2.0 is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2009, 10:02 PM   #7
smokefree
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3
iTrader: (0)
Hi all,

I'm new here, for what I've been tried, my 2001 JDM ZZT231 is none of any
OBDII compliant, I did sent the log file to glmsoft of obd2007, and they confirm that my car is not OBDII compliant.

please let me know if you found a right scanner.
smokefree is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2009, 12:43 AM   #8
mozso
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Hungary
Posts: 67
iTrader: (0)
Up to 2008 most European Toyotas don't use Can-Bus, we are ISO OBD-II (EOBD).

As for your 7th gen Celica you might want to try OBD 1 scanner. This is the protocol most aging Hondas use from that time as well.

Edit: although in many parts of the world OBD-II was mandatory after 2000-2001 I found info that many JDM Toyotas do not use OBD-II up until 2003. Try with some older OBD-1 scanner I think it will work.

You can use alternative method to flash the CEL using the check engine light and then manually decode it.

Try this ukraine website and translate with google:
http://translate.google.com/translat.../dtctoyota.htm

Last edited by mozso; 08-02-2009 at 12:58 AM..
mozso is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2009, 12:35 AM   #9
AMG4DVI
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Jamaica
Posts: 36
iTrader: (0)
OK, on the JDM machines what i use to do dignostic scanning is the LAUNCH diagnostic computer...allows you full access to all systems, eg. engage and disengage lift at standstill, AC system dignostic and real time dignostics while moving. the OBDII scanners will not work. They will detect the ECu but will not be able to conect sucessufully to it.
AMG4DVI is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009, 01:55 AM   #10
bp_me
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ireland
Posts: 65
iTrader: (0)
Are the pinouts different?

If so I'll go and have a look at the connector and have an answer for you then.

For what it's worth I don't think the early ones are CAN because I haven't seen mention of various controllers anywhere in the EPC.
__________________
Some of my work here:
http://bpme.deviantart.com/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/bp_me/
bp_me is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 12:59 PM   #11
bp_me
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ireland
Posts: 65
iTrader: (0)
Edit:

Ok, so this is my diag port. Using pins 4,6,7,9, 13, 14, 16




Pin out info from: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/On-board_diagnostics

Also does this mean that this reader will work properly with my celica: http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/USB-A...motiveQ5fTools
__________________
Some of my work here:
http://bpme.deviantart.com/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/bp_me/

Last edited by bp_me; 08-26-2009 at 04:51 AM..
bp_me is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2009, 04:01 PM   #12
2way
Electromagnetic Wave :-h
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: "America's Hometown"
Posts: 14,056
iTrader: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mozso View Post
You can use alternative method to flash the CEL using the check engine light and then manually decode it.
Another link: http://plaza.umin.ac.jp/~satoshi/tip06en.html

Have you tried the Toyota Euro .docs website?
2way is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2010, 11:43 AM   #13
foster182
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 90
iTrader: (0)
is there any update on this, i have the same obd and i'm getting no response from my obd2 scanner.

what protocol is the jdm car?
foster182 is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2010, 11:46 AM   #14
bp_me
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ireland
Posts: 65
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by foster182 View Post
is there any update on this, i have the same obd and i'm getting no response from my obd2 scanner.

what protocol is the jdm car?
The conclusion I came to was it was using a toyota comms protocol so if you need a code read you need to visit a toyota dealer or someone with the appropriate diag gear (such as a Bosch KTS 650).
__________________
Some of my work here:
http://bpme.deviantart.com/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/bp_me/
bp_me is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2010, 11:50 AM   #15
foster182
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 90
iTrader: (0)
So there is no way for us to read info coming off the engine like standard obd ports?
I really want to get some type of monitoring coming off the engine without going into the ecu.
foster182 is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2010, 11:52 AM   #16
bp_me
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ireland
Posts: 65
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by foster182 View Post
So there is no way for us to read info coming off the engine like standard obd ports?
I really want to get some type of monitoring coming off the engine without going into the ecu.
What are you looking to monitor?

It wouldn't be that difficult to build a hardware setup to take data direct from sensors (it wouldnt be that cheap either).
__________________
Some of my work here:
http://bpme.deviantart.com/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/bp_me/
bp_me is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2010, 12:00 PM   #17
foster182
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 90
iTrader: (0)
Well right now i'm just prickin around with trying to get information from the car, I'd like to be able to get rpm, throttle, air intake, mpg, error codes etc etc.
I have a carpc set up so it'd be nice to be able to view all the info on centrafuse or some other pc app.


Quote:
Originally Posted by bp_me View Post
It wouldn't be that difficult to build a hardware setup to take data direct from sensors
Do you mean from the obd port?

I'm still trying to find out what protocol the car is, if there is no interface to be found ( i.e. obd to usb ) i'll start looking into build an interface.
foster182 is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2010, 07:05 PM   #18
bp_me
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ireland
Posts: 65
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by foster182 View Post
I'm still trying to find out what protocol the car is, if there is no interface to be found ( i.e. obd to usb ) i'll start looking into build an interface.
It's not a standard protocol so unless you want to reverse engineer the toyota protocol you wont get much of use from the diag port.

The below chart is for a 01 JDM celica.
__________________
Some of my work here:
http://bpme.deviantart.com/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/bp_me/
bp_me is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2010, 07:15 PM   #19
foster182
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 90
iTrader: (0)
Can i ask where ya found this chart man?

I might have a look at the pins and make a circuit to receive data.
Or even have a look around and see if anyone's done this.
Pain in the hole this
foster182 is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2010, 07:18 PM   #20
bp_me
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ireland
Posts: 65
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by foster182 View Post
Can i ask where ya found this chart man?

I might have a look at the pins and make a circuit to receive data.
Or even have a look around and see if anyone's done this.
Pain in the hole this
It's from the Bosch KTS help system.
__________________
Some of my work here:
http://bpme.deviantart.com/
http://www.flickr.com/photos/bp_me/
bp_me is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2010, 07:19 PM   #21
Cap
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: California
Posts: 176
iTrader: (0)
Foster182

Enable your PM's or PM me with your E mail..

Need to go off the record here..

Cap
Cap is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Go Back   NewCelica.org Forum > Celica Discussion > Performance Mods > ECU Tuning

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:50 PM.