drum to disc conversion - NewCelica.org Forum
  
Install Guides Parts Catalog Gallery Tech Info

Go Back   NewCelica.org Forum > Site Information & Features > NewCelica.org - Install Guides >    Suspension / Brakes

Support NCO
Google
Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 18 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 09-17-2005, 05:35 PM   #1
fievel28
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Posts: 287
iTrader: (0)
drum to disc conversion

Well, i decided to do this write up, because people are still asking if this is possible and hard is it. this write up is only for non-abs.

tools: rachet and sockets 10, 12, 14, vice grips, open end 10mm, rubber mallet, jack.

list of parts:

GTS rotors, brake assembly with e-brake cable (everything from the knuckle forward, see picture below), calipers with brake line, 8 new bolts size M10-1.25mm X 40mm.






to begin, i suggest you use a lift, but i just jacked the car up.

1. remove tire
2. remove the 4 bolts holding your drums to the knuckle. (pics below are where the 4 bolts are located on the back of the knuckle, and what it should look like after you knock the drum off, with a rubber mallet.)





3. remove brake line.
4. bolt up the new assembly with the new bolts. it matches up on the knuckle,you just need longer bolts to secure it.
5. put on caliper, and connect brake line to the caliper. pic below for location.



6. time to get under the car. follow the old e-brake cables and remove the bolts in order from back to front. this is why i think you should be on a lift. you have to remove the first heat shield. easy to do if you loosen up the exhaust, but i just yanked on it.
7. now feed the new e-brake cable where the old one was, but don't bolt it down. it will easier to re-attach it with the extra play.
8. once both e-brakes are attached, bolt the lines down front to back.
9. replace heat shield and exhaust.
10. bleed brakes and tighten down cable.



11. put your wheels back on, duh.



If i left anything out or you have questions, hit me up.
__________________
Darkside Azazhen
fievel28 is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-17-2005, 05:36 PM   #2
fievel28
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Posts: 287
iTrader: (0)
forgot to say, whole installation took about 2 hours. with a lift, maybe an hour. i got all the parts for about 250 shipped, but i really got a great deal. they usaully run about 300 to 350. also i suggest you change the pads and shoes, and if you got the cash put some nice rotors on.
__________________
Darkside Azazhen

Last edited by fievel28; 09-17-2005 at 05:43 PM..
fievel28 is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 08:48 PM   #3
SuuPaSeDan
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Folsom, CA
Posts: 1,895
iTrader: (1)
whoa!!!

thanks for making this write up!

ive been meaning to do this for the longest time

seems pretty simple, i just have to come up with the money and source the right parts
__________________
SuuPaSeDan is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
 
Old 09-22-2005, 09:56 PM   #4
EvoCelica2000
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Auburn, Al
Posts: 48
iTrader: (0)
how would you do it if you want abs? does the 00 gt come with everything else but the rear disks and sensors?
__________________
EvoCelica2000 is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2005, 01:14 PM   #5
fievel28
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Posts: 287
iTrader: (0)
i know mine didn't, but not sure if it was offered on other gt's. and i have know clue how to hook up the abs, but if you give it a shot let me know.
__________________
Darkside Azazhen
fievel28 is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2005, 03:29 PM   #6
czar_jizzle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Opelika, Alabama 36801
Posts: 442
iTrader: (11)
could you tell me where you got your parts from.
czar_jizzle is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2005, 09:10 AM   #7
My Sixth Gear
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 2,619
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via AIM to My Sixth Gear
you do not need to get the GTS hubs, the GT hubs will work,
__________________
My Sixth Gear is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2005, 03:43 AM   #8
fievel28
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Posts: 287
iTrader: (0)
well, if you feel like doing a write up, switching out the hub parts, knock yourself out.
__________________
Darkside Azazhen
fievel28 is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2005, 10:46 AM   #9
My Sixth Gear
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 2,619
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via AIM to My Sixth Gear
to knock out the hubs all you gotta do is hit the hub off the backing plate with a hammer.. the 4 bolts that you need to replace are all that hold it to the backing plate.
__________________
My Sixth Gear is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2006, 11:35 AM   #10
techgeekwill
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: localhost
Posts: 2,312
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via AIM to techgeekwill Send a message via MSN to techgeekwill Send a message via Yahoo to techgeekwill
damn, glad i found this. it is going to be one of my first mods.
techgeekwill is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2006, 02:42 PM   #11
ZenoGenProducts
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: houston
Posts: 350
iTrader: (0)
great write up
ZenoGenProducts is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2006, 07:51 AM   #12
MattCelica03GT
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 2
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via AIM to MattCelica03GT
Big Brake upgrade possible??

Hey, Awesome write up! Just one question...Instead of getting the GTS assembly would you be able to just buy a big brake kit and just get the lines from the GTS?
MattCelica03GT is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2006, 10:28 AM   #13
fievel28
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Posts: 287
iTrader: (0)
well, sixth gear says there's a way to use the gt hubs. but i don't think anyone has tried it. but if your looking into big brake kits SSBC sells a conversion kit, but they are expensive. look in the parts section and you'll see the link. hope this helps.
__________________
Darkside Azazhen
fievel28 is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2006, 11:55 PM   #14
ViBrance
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: New Orleans, La
Posts: 901
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via AIM to ViBrance Send a message via Yahoo to ViBrance
noticed u have the GC coil set on there.. if u dont mind me asking, what strut u using? this may lead to another question depending on the strut combo also what spring rates u set at?

couple more questions concerning this topic:

where did u get the parts from? would it be cheaper from a junk yard?
ViBrance is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2006, 04:03 AM   #15
fievel28
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Posts: 287
iTrader: (0)
okay, all i got is stock struts. i haven't tuned any of my suspension, yet. i'm gonna get on that when i get back from afghanistan.

okay, for the rest of the questions. i bought the parts off of a wrecked GTS. there's people on here that sell them from time to time. price ranges from 200-400. hope that helps.
__________________
Darkside Azazhen
fievel28 is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2006, 12:17 PM   #16
trdguy1981
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chesapeake, VA.
Posts: 472
iTrader: (4)
Send a message via AIM to trdguy1981
Great write up. One of the next projects I will do after Getting new rims and slooted rotors and the rest of the stuff to do all of the rotors
trdguy1981 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2007, 01:10 PM   #17
SpikedCola
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Virgil, Ontario
Posts: 1,435
iTrader: (12)
Send a message via Skype™ to SpikedCola
Pictures no worky
__________________
2003 Celica GT-S
SpikedCola is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2007, 02:25 PM   #18
Hotpocketdeath
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 224
iTrader: (1)
Yah, pics not working for me either. Luckily I actually saved the page for future reference because I'm planning on doing this so I saved the pictures.

http://www.malamber.org/gaw/celica/D...C00128-med.JPG
http://www.malamber.org/gaw/celica/D...C00129-med.JPG
http://www.malamber.org/gaw/celica/D...C00130-med.JPG
http://www.malamber.org/gaw/celica/D...C00132-med.JPG
http://www.malamber.org/gaw/celica/D...C00135-med.JPG
http://www.malamber.org/gaw/celica/D...C00137-med.JPG
http://www.malamber.org/gaw/celica/D...C00138-med.JPG

And I found this great place to get the replacement bolts for cheap http://www.boltdepot.com/metric-hex-bolts.aspx. And if you replace the bolts, get the 10.9 grades. They are the hardest hex head bolts I can find. Anything harder and you would have to go with allen head which is 12.9 grade.
__________________
Quote:
I'm immortal till the Day I Die

Last edited by Hotpocketdeath; 02-09-2007 at 11:39 PM..
Hotpocketdeath is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2007, 06:11 AM   #19
fievel28
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Posts: 287
iTrader: (0)
Hey guys, i don't know why the pics don't work anymore. All the pics are still in my gallery, i'll try to edit the post later. Thatnks to HPdaeth for saving and reposting links. anyway, if yall got any questions let me know. late
__________________
Darkside Azazhen
fievel28 is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2007, 09:42 AM   #20
larryd
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Bear, DE
Posts: 22,455
iTrader: (23)
Blog Entries: 1
Send a message via AIM to larryd Send a message via Yahoo to larryd
I fixed the pics for you.
larryd is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2007, 11:42 AM   #21
cpta2020
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Canada, Mississauga
Posts: 377
iTrader: (7)
Nice... is it worth it tho?
__________________


'' if you're not living life on the edge,
you're taking up too much space.''
cpta2020 is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2007, 05:06 PM   #22
skalogre
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 577
iTrader: (7)
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpta2020
Nice... is it worth it tho?
Cosmetically, 90% (IMHO of course)

Now, in use, I have no idea. Hopefully someone who has done this conversion could chime in... please?
__________________
skalogre is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2007, 08:51 PM   #23
Nick2Shyy
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 88
iTrader: (1)
what would i look for if i was looking for the whole brake assembly? On car-part.com you cant find brake assembly, you have to buy each part seperate
Nick2Shyy is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2007, 03:18 AM   #24
uplinkhack
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: S'pore
Posts: 261
iTrader: (0)
so does anyone know already what to do if you want ABS? sigh...SSBC's kit is nice but costs a bomb $$$
uplinkhack is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 06:57 AM   #25
GT-boss
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Plattsburgh, NY
Posts: 87
iTrader: (3)
Save some time and money

I just completed the change from drums too disc.

"This is a must", with new pads and disc, major difference.

However, if I would of known, I would of kept the original hand brake cables installed.

What I mean, leave the cables connected at the hand brake section, only disconnect the cables at the other end, and when you've completed the swap, just hook up the hand brake cable to the new disc assy.

This will prevent any extra labor (if your not doing the job yourself), I personnaly did the job myself until it was time to work on the hand brake cables, broke some bolts (rusted, which means "drill and tap new threads"), remove the exhaust shield "problem, again rusted bolts", little room to work).

Solution, mecanic and a lift, cost $55.00 for the macanic to remove both original cables and to hook up the new ones which are identical.

With new disc and panted calipers (red), looks great even the wife said it looks better.

PS. the write up is excellent, don't forget to get the new longer bolts. (it's a must)
GT-boss is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 10:06 AM   #26
uplinkhack
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: S'pore
Posts: 261
iTrader: (0)
hi, any issues with ABS? urs a 7th gen GT?
uplinkhack is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 07:33 PM   #27
GT-boss
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Plattsburgh, NY
Posts: 87
iTrader: (3)
Does not affect ABS

This mod does not involve ABS, the ABS system (located within the bearing), if your car has ABS or not, will not matter because you will be reinstalling the same bearings.
GT-boss is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2007, 08:08 PM   #28
uplinkhack
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: S'pore
Posts: 261
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by GT-boss
This mod does not involve ABS, the ABS system (located within the bearing), if your car has ABS or not, will not matter because you will be reinstalling the same bearings.
oic...thanks..so i guess if something seems wrong with the brakes, all we gotta do i to reset the ECU?

sorry another question: will there be an issue on the brake bias? i heard stories of fish tailing during hard braking..

hmmm so if i were to convert the 7th generation GT, what exactly are the parts needed? i got an offer for the rear assembly off a wrecked GTS + its axles (but i dunno what the rear axle for), hence i'd like to confirm the parts in case if i miss out any, or get 'cheated' into paying more...thanks man, and do enjoy ur new brakes!!!
uplinkhack is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2007, 03:48 AM   #29
GT-boss
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Plattsburgh, NY
Posts: 87
iTrader: (3)
- Everything will work fine (no errors), a braking system is very simple, bleed the rear brakes (because some air got in with the swap) "ONLY THE REAR, NOT THE FRONT BRAKES", I say this because a lot of mecanics will bleed the front brakes too.
- To be on the safe side (prevent any ABS errors), disconnect the battery before you start.
Fish tailing, a proper braking system (with no air in the system) should have all 4 wheels lock at the same time and will stop in a straight line.
That is what I call an excellent braking system (mine works just like that at any speed).
- Parts needed, the procedure is excellent, it includes all the parts needed, you must get new longer bolts (8), get some lock tight (I added some on all 8 bolts), this way I know when I`m driving at high speeds I won`t have bolts falling off.
- I think the average price (found on this excellent forum) is $300.00.
- Have fun, let me know if you have any other questions
GT-boss is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2007, 11:48 PM   #30
fievel28
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
Posts: 287
iTrader: (0)
Thanks GT-boss for fielding some questions. I just got back from Afghanistan and things have been crazy. Thanks again bro
__________________
Darkside Azazhen
fievel28 is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 05:15 PM   #31
rdrocket2000
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southern Indiana, Clarksville
Posts: 116
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by GT-boss
- Everything will work fine (no errors), a braking system is very simple, bleed the rear brakes (because some air got in with the swap) "ONLY THE REAR, NOT THE FRONT BRAKES", I say this because a lot of mecanics will bleed the front brakes too.
- To be on the safe side (prevent any ABS errors), disconnect the battery before you start.
Fish tailing, a proper braking system (with no air in the system) should have all 4 wheels lock at the same time and will stop in a straight line.
That is what I call an excellent braking system (mine works just like that at any speed).
- Parts needed, the procedure is excellent, it includes all the parts needed, you must get new longer bolts (8), get some lock tight (I added some on all 8 bolts), this way I know when I`m driving at high speeds I won`t have bolts falling off.
- I think the average price (found on this excellent forum) is $300.00.
- Have fun, let me know if you have any other questions
He's right. I just picked up a 2000 GT-S rear brakes for $300.00 two weeks ago. Just go through them and make sure any of the things that just plain wear out, like springs and such, are replaced. I had to rebuild the emergency brake system and the only place to get shoes (That's right - brake shoes, not pads) was from Toyota and they were $21.01 apiece! Times 4, you do the math. Toyota sh*t's expensive!!
__________________
17x7 Motegi MR7 w/Fulda Quantum Elite 215/45 tires, Hotchkis Springs & Sways, Rear Koni Yellows Converted to coilover by Truechoice (replaced Hotchkis Progressive Rate Springs in Rear), Powergrid Rear Sway Bar End Links, ANSA Silverline Axle-Back, B&M Short Shifter, Speed Source S/S Braided Clutch Hose, Tuned Innovations Ground Wire Kit, K&N Drop-In w/BFV Removed, Rear Disk Conversion
rdrocket2000 is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2007, 09:01 PM   #32
uplinkhack
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: S'pore
Posts: 261
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdrocket2000
He's right. I just picked up a 2000 GT-S rear brakes for $300.00 two weeks ago. Just go through them and make sure any of the things that just plain wear out, like springs and such, are replaced. I had to rebuild the emergency brake system and the only place to get shoes (That's right - brake shoes, not pads) was from Toyota and they were $21.01 apiece! Times 4, you do the math. Toyota sh*t's expensive!!
crap thats expensive! but can't we use our original rear drum's shoe?
uplinkhack is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2007, 03:02 AM   #33
GT-boss
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Plattsburgh, NY
Posts: 87
iTrader: (3)
use our original rear drum's shoe?

Unfortunately not, the original rear shoes are much bigger, they cover the width of the braking surface of the original drums.

Compared to the new shoes which are way smaller and cover a smaller surface on the inner section of the new disc.

Have fun

Last edited by GT-boss; 08-07-2007 at 03:54 AM..
GT-boss is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2007, 03:08 AM   #34
uplinkhack
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: S'pore
Posts: 261
iTrader: (0)
okie thanks because i read that someone actually used the GT hubs to convert but i still can't figure it out (in my head) how that is possible..
uplinkhack is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2007, 11:19 AM   #35
rdrocket2000
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Southern Indiana, Clarksville
Posts: 116
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by uplinkhack
crap thats expensive! but can't we use our original rear drum's shoe?
Imagine the rear drum on the GT only about 5-6" in diameter. The rear disk parking brake drum is just a "shrunk down" standard brake drum.
__________________
17x7 Motegi MR7 w/Fulda Quantum Elite 215/45 tires, Hotchkis Springs & Sways, Rear Koni Yellows Converted to coilover by Truechoice (replaced Hotchkis Progressive Rate Springs in Rear), Powergrid Rear Sway Bar End Links, ANSA Silverline Axle-Back, B&M Short Shifter, Speed Source S/S Braided Clutch Hose, Tuned Innovations Ground Wire Kit, K&N Drop-In w/BFV Removed, Rear Disk Conversion
rdrocket2000 is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2007, 03:03 PM   #36
danno
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sherwood Park,Canada
Posts: 816
iTrader: (10)
So does the gt hub work? Please help???
danno is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2007, 07:36 AM   #37
danno
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sherwood Park,Canada
Posts: 816
iTrader: (10)
the front hubs of course!
danno is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2007, 08:38 PM   #38
Toyota22
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 222
iTrader: (1)
someone did it with bigger rotors or calipers? i'm thinking about doing this conversion with bigger rotors and calipers! Is it possible? Do i have to buy the whole kit even if i'm upgrade those parts?
Toyota22 is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2007, 08:17 PM   #39
celicarace
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bay Area, Ca. near S.J.
Posts: 2,195
iTrader: (23)
Is it possible to buy a Big Brake Kit & have it on the GT & then add the ebrake line to the rear's to make it 4-wheel braking???

This section is confusing..
celicarace is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2007, 08:19 PM   #40
celicarace
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bay Area, Ca. near S.J.
Posts: 2,195
iTrader: (23)
Another question is.. If I bought a Big Brake Kit for the GT-S will, at the very least, the Front GT-S brakes work on the GT????
celicarace is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2007, 08:03 AM   #41
uplinkhack
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: S'pore
Posts: 261
iTrader: (0)
front would most probably fit, but for the rear i doubt it'd fit because of a different bracket and the e-brake drum.
uplinkhack is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2008, 09:36 AM   #42
Singlez
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Quebec
Posts: 22
iTrader: (0)
I have a question for you guys!!!

Someone knows the torque specifications for the 4 bolts holding the hub to the sub-frame???

Tks for answering

Last edited by Singlez; 03-20-2008 at 07:35 AM..
Singlez is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2008, 07:57 PM   #43
Ferahgo
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 143
iTrader: (3)
Send a message via AIM to Ferahgo Send a message via MSN to Ferahgo Send a message via Yahoo to Ferahgo
I saw no mention of the master brake cylinder. Is it to be assumed that no replacement or modification is required to keep the brake bias even?
Ferahgo is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2008, 08:19 AM   #44
SpikedCola
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Virgil, Ontario
Posts: 1,435
iTrader: (12)
Send a message via Skype™ to SpikedCola
^^ I believe the GT and GT-S have the same master cylinder, so you shouldnt need to replace/change it when you swap from drum to disc. I think...
__________________
2003 Celica GT-S
SpikedCola is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2008, 11:35 PM   #45
jhony911
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 186
iTrader: (0)
ok so i am planing on doing this conversion , i got some quotes and here are the prices , 678$ for new brake rotors all around drilled, reman rear calipers, and all ceramic pads, 480$ for the two dust shields oh yeah i didnt get any quotes on the new hand brake brackets, hardware kit and shoes. so far its 1158 dollars so now when i think about it that big brake kit is not a bad idea... oh yeah forgot to mention i am getting all those parts for $650Hook ups lol
jhony911 is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2008, 04:33 PM   #46
kiefer squared
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Sterling, Virginia
Posts: 386
iTrader: (4)
Send a message via AIM to kiefer squared
question: if i was to get new rotor and caliper for the front would i be able to move the old stuff to the back???
how does this work exactly?
when your brake do all 4 wheels break or is it just the front
when you pop the e brake does the back still hold like the drum
and is this possible on a auto gt
kiefer squared is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2008, 01:37 PM   #47
i21
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 218
iTrader: (10)
Quote:
Originally Posted by GT-boss View Post
What I mean, leave the cables connected at the hand brake section, only disconnect the cables at the other end, and when you've completed the swap, just hook up the hand brake cable to the new disc assy.
You mean to disconnect from the drums and install on the discs?
__________________
.:OEM HID housing.TSX retrofits|'03 Front|Molly Rep. sides *needs install*|TRD Performance|Tein Suspensions|Rays:.
i21 is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2008, 04:58 PM   #48
_PheNoM_
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Houston
Posts: 34
iTrader: (0)
ok im planning to do this mod whenever my tax refund returns..

ill be posting the site or items that i want to buy in order to replace the drum kit in the back and probly buy new rotors and calipers/pads for the front.. i have a 2002 gt so please let me know if this will fit fine and if you knw any other sites that offers for cheap let me know..

and i nid help to put it on, i dont have any power tools or whatever, and i drive this car everysingle day, so i dont have the time to leave it for a week w/o brakes.. any one know where i can ask them to put in on and i will just pay them back..

THANK YOU!
_PheNoM_ is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 11:51 AM   #49
RyanBrenden
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 9
iTrader: (0)
So the drum to disc brake conversion was for the GT right or what that for the GT-S? I have a 2000 Toyota Celica GT and it is front disc rear drum brakes. I want to have the rear brakes changed to disc im just trying to find out how much it will cost and where to have it done?
RyanBrenden is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2008, 02:57 PM   #50
i21
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 218
iTrader: (10)
You CAN get everything from dealer by parts but that will cause you as much as a new engine... best bet is to keep lookin on the forum and hope for someone to sell their conversion.. From time to time there's a few.. they range about 300-450 for everything.. You'd then want to get yourself some new rotors and pads, and maybe brake lines replacing the ones that came with the assembly you bought. Most dealerships and genuine garage won't do this install for you due to safety issues.

However I got a quote from a shop before and they said about 4-5 hours of labor.. so in the bay area in California.. that's about 50-90 bucks an hour of labor.. you're looking to spend 1k. Better you do it yourself or with a friend who's confident in mechanics.

Good Luck!
__________________
.:OEM HID housing.TSX retrofits|'03 Front|Molly Rep. sides *needs install*|TRD Performance|Tein Suspensions|Rays:.
i21 is offline   View this Members' Photo Gallery Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Go Back   NewCelica.org Forum > Site Information & Features > NewCelica.org - Install Guides >    Suspension / Brakes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:13 PM.

vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.