NewCelica.org Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
2ZZ-GTE
695 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
AEM EMS-4 MWR PNP kit install/review

Let me start off with saying I am no professional tuner or technician so I will try my best to answer any questions. this is my first install thread so if im missing something dont hesitate to ask

Overall I’m pleased with the unit over my power fc. I saved a bit because I bought the ems4 separate for less than retail, then purchased just the patch harness and map sensor from mwr. The idle is smooth like stock, the software is very user friendly and loaded with a bunch of settings that are foreign to me but I’m sure its not a bad thing haha. Lift works as it should, the protection features work well and obviously serve a good purpose. MAP based tuning seems a lot more straight forward to me, keep in mind im not a tuner by any means. For those who don’t know this ecu is ran parallel to the stock ecu so it is setup like a piggyback but the stock ecu is left in to control the gauges, fans, ac etc

Whats in the box:

I’ve since added a aem IAT kit which was 60 bux so I can completely delete the stock maf, wiring for that was easy and once it is matched up in the software works good.

Now for the bad, below are some things I don’t like about the ems4 setup which could be just me being picky.

Installation instructions from mwr are very poor to say the least. If our car was setup like a corolla/matrix/vibe sure it would be great because we can easily hide the huge patch harness and ems4 but we’re not so lucky.

2-step is not working. I’m not sure if it’s a setting problem or if it is not wired correctly

MWR customer service to address this problem sucks, gave em a call to ask them why this may be happening and what they setup in the basemap got me no where they basically said everything should be working and gave me no further info.