NewCelica.org Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Lift kicked in yo
122 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So basically my thoughts on this -------> :wtf2:

I did a normal oil change on the car the other day. I've been using Mobil 1 full synthetic since I got the car 2 years ago. Usually use Bosch or Mobil 1 filters as well. Never had any issues with a light before until now.

Filled the engine with about 4.5 qts so I could measure the dipstick and top it off after running it for 2 minutes (i know the car takes almost 5 quarts). Upon initial startup, I heard a very strange noise. Sounded like a bad spark, or almost like some metal scraping/grinding, but I can't be sure as it was very brief, and a bit tough to describe. Just wasn't a normal sounding startup. It started up and idled fine (no funny noises) but the CEL was on, and has stayed on since. I am going to have the code read today, but I have no idea what could have caused the CEL. Truthfully, I'm a bit worried.

Anyone have any thoughts on this? Or personal experience with something similar happening?

Hoping it's just a vacuum leak, or something cheap and fixable.:/:

·
Lift kicked in yo
122 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
need that code first
Funny how this worked out. Was literally on my way to Auto Zone to get the code read, when the CEL went off. So I went in anyways and had the stored code read and cleared. It was for an engine misfire (i'm assuming because the oil hadn't been changed since last year before I stored the car basically without starting it for 6 months). Once I put the new oil in, the computer probably flipped a shit and threw a light because it was like "ERMAGERD NEW OIL WTF"

That being said, I should probably get my injectors cleaned sometime soon. This is the 2nd time an engine misfire code has popped up when the engine is not actually misfiring.

·
Registered
541 Posts