NewCelica.org Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay,
So I've searched an found a lot of info and am pretty sure as to what to do. I bought a H/U with 3 RCA jacks and am going to run them to my 5 channel amp. Then, I run new speaker wires from the amp to all the speakers and subs.

I'm not sure though on a couple of things:
1. How do I run the new wires to all of the existing speakers in the fronts? Should I cut out the stock subs and wire the speaker and tweeter in series since I'm using new subs?
2. The connection in the back of my H/U has a ton of wires. Do I hard wire everything except the speaker wires together with stock wires by pulling them out of the stock plug and soldering/crimping?
3. Do I use the ground wire comming out of the H/U and ground it to one of the screws or is there a wire to splice it to from the stock plug?

Thanks for the help in advance. I am very new to wiring and this is my first system install, so yeah...

-Christopher

·
Electromagnetic Wave :-h
15,879 Posts
I'm guessing that this is a GT-S/Premium Sound system in an '00-'02?

If so:

1) Your choice. You can just not use the front subs (the tweeter & mid are already joined) or you can move the high-pass filter going to the tweeter to the sub & cut out the mid.

2) Use a TA-03 style harness adapter.

3) There is a ground on the harness. But, you could use a convenient "earth" ground.

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Also, I ran my RCA cables and remote wire down the middle of the car with the large bundle of wires already there and plan on running the power wire to the amp along the driver's side under the door sill. Is that the way to go or do I need to move the RCA cables to run along the passenger's side under that door sill?

·
15,879 Posts
Is that only when you use the stock amp?
Yes.