NewCelica.org Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My hass kit on the GT is smoking at idle speeds(800rpm) I need to know what to do to remedy this bc it causes a problem not only going through oil real fast. I also believe it will shorten the life of the turbo if I don't cool it down and warm it up properly. The kit otherwise is fast, sounds great and it's alot of fun. I haven't got it tuned or put it on a dyno and I've only been driving it for a week and a half. I don't know how to post pics on here cause I'm a newb or whatever you call it but I'll throw in a link to http://www.turbo-kits.com/celica_customers.html cause my car is the only celi on there so far.
Also I'm banging my head on the back of the headrest and its not fun. Does anyone ever pad there's up? It only happens when the turbo kicks in hard.
Thanks if you can help from that,
Jordy

·
Registered
2,563 Posts
Is the turbo smoking or is the exhaust in the back smoking?

if the turbo is smoking: Oil is leaking

if the exhaust is smoking:You prob running rich / Get the car tunned if you didn't

·
Registered
903 Posts
emotart said:
Is the turbo smoking or is the exhaust in the back smoking?

if the turbo is smoking: Oil is leaking

if the exhaust is smoking:You prob running rich / Get the car tunned if you didn't

If the exhaust is smoking blue, oil is getting into the engine and burning either from an oil leak on the complressor side of the turbo elsewhere in the engine.

If the exhaust is smoking whitish you may be blowing oil out the exhaust seal of the turbo straight into the CAT...

If you have a CAT, be carefull as this can kill its effeciency and restrict flow in the cat

If the turbo itself is smoking... well, obviously the turbo is leaking oil there

If you are running an emanage w/ no CELs, you aren't running rich at idle. ANd since you are loosing oil, its pretty clear that there is an oil leak in the system.