NewCelica.org Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
822 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I got a stupid question...since I'm new to this I think I'm entitled to that :)
I got a 2003 GTS and it states that it comes with 180 HP stock, when I read the posts here it says it's 160 hp...that looks to me more like a GT. Did they up the HP on my model or what's the story?
Also the TRD Exhaust is supposed to add 14 hp (which I tend to believe because the boost I got was pretty immense...) so now I'm at 195...now I added the AEM CAI which is supposed to add 10 hp so by now I'm at 205 hp and my baby flys...

So are these numbers correct or did I fall for a marketing trick?

·
Registered
271 Posts
I believe that it is 160HP to the wheels, yes. As for the TRD exaust, it's closer to 6-7. Now the CAI I'm not too sure about, but I think +10 is fairly close. Comes out to around 176-177 total.

·
Premium Member
9,606 Posts
Yeah, with any manual tranny you can expect to lose about 10-15% of the power to the transmission. So in your case:
180 + 7 (trd exhaust) + 10 (aem CAI) = 197 - 12.5% = (about) 172 HP.

Now keep in mind that numbers on paper (or on a computer) rarely hold true in real life... if you want to know how much power your celi is putting to the ground.... do a few dyno runs!

·
Registered
514 Posts
I am going to dyno my car in the next week. Stock t-sports have shown numbers from 175 to 185 whp on different dynos and different mileage. I am expecting to see at least 190 hp at the wheels. Hopefully the trial header will work efficiently with a tanabe exhaust. With some Unorthodox racing pulleys and a fuel mod (fifth injector) with piggyback ECU, I should be in the 200 something area with 99+ octane fuel. I can't wait for cams to come out for the 2zzge.

·
Registered
3,619 Posts
mrtomcat,