NewCelica.org Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a complete newbie when it comes to servicing my car and I just wanted to share my 2 thoughts on using a jack.

Some of this is depicted in the Toyota Owner's manual when using the emergency scissor jack found in your trunk. However, I had a bit of trouble figuring out how to use my newly purchased hydraulic jack.

For full instructions on how to use a hydraulic jack, you can find a long-winded video online HERE

HERE

First off, this is the jack I used

and I used these jackstands

The front jacking point can be found midline about 1 foot back from the front bumper here

The rear jacking point can also be found midline and consists of the frame crossbar at the centerpoint here

There are other jacking points but for my purposes - tire rotation and changing tires, these are the safest jacking points that I could find.

A couple of other points

1) My jack did not quite lift the car high enough for my purposes. The trick here is to put the jack on top of some pieces of plywood to "lift it up". The other thing that you can do is put a hockey puck on the top of the jack (between the car and jack) which adds another 1 - 1.5".

Also, if you are using a jack on a softer surface that can be damaged (ie: asphalt); make sure you put the jack on top of a good piece of plywood so it doesn't sink in.

2) ALWAYS use a jackstand if you have them. You can place them on the regular jacking points that are found just behind the front wheels and in front of the back wheels. This is actually described well in the Owner's manual.

3) Loosen the wheels first before you start jacking up the car if you are rotating wheels.