NewCelica.org Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
231 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
a friend of mine thats fairly mechanically inclined, mostly with hondas and acuras and such told me that instead of paying the 3500 bucks or whatever for a turbo kit for my 00 gts mt i could piece one together for roughly around $1500 or so. is this possible to do and if so what all do i need for a complete turbo? (im a turbo noob lol, dont know a lot about them yet) also is there anything extra that i would need for my gts thats different from other cars i.e. honda, acura etc, etc, etc?

·
Registered
231 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
also i mean all new parts for the turbo, nothing used.

·
Registered
903 Posts
"parting togeather" cheap works for hondas since they have such a huge aftermarket and so there are a ton of extra pieces floating around...

For the celi the kits are by far the cheapest way to go. Trust me, I tried to do exactly what you are talking about.

I got a lot for the money... but the headache of putting it togeather is intense and you end up spending more than the kits

and btw... my engine just blew, somewhat unrelated, but sad nonetheless

·
Registered
2,141 Posts
what your friend told you is true...you can put together a turbo kit for less than $3,500.
I can only recommend this to people that know what they are getting, and have access to shops that can make the manifold, the IC pipes, and the exhaust. Also, people who are upgrading parts for more power, go the custom way.
Remember that the price for the current turbo kits include all the combinations of parts and labor to make everything fit and work well all together. Also, you are getting all the parts at once, and not looking for each one of them separately. Last but not least, the companies have to make a profit out of it.

·
Registered
4,057 Posts