NewCelica.org Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

· Registered
3,883 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Let me start off.... 00 GTS 6SPD. have ALWAYS loved toyota's with a passion and finally (6mths ago) landed a very well paying job and thought i would treat myself well. im new to toyota but not to the import scene. took my sister out tonight in the car for a ride, 1st time she saw my beautiful car :) so i took 1st gear to about hmm i would say 8 grand and tried banging it into 2nd. wouldnt go in. tried again a few minutes later, same thing. shifted right into gear at about 6000. spoke with a good friend of mine about this and he stated it was a safety feature that you cant bang 2nd passed a certain RPM range (maybe after lift kicks in)?! although another kid i know that has an 01 GTS said he bangs 2nd gear at about 8200?! <though i dont really care about what that kids has to say haha, but i wanna know is this really a safety feat.? please, tell me it is! thanks for everyones time!

· Registered
2,708 Posts
First off....'banging' anything with your sister in the car is just wrong. That being said, lets refer to this from now on as "shifting into 2nd gear".
Typically this occurs with bad syncros. 2nd gear is usually the first to go. how many miles? Might want to change the tranny oil to mt90 or something as well.

· Registered
3,883 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
the car was a one owner lease, by a guy that was 40 some years old. now thats not sayin he didnt beat it but the d*mn thing looks like it came right off the showroom floor. the car does have almost 36,000 miles on it (35,764 i believe to be exact). now keep in mind i tested it one more time tonight (JUST ONCE!) and took it to about 6900 or mabe 7k (before the clutch hit the floor) and it shifted perfectly fine into 2nd. every other gear is fine. but i dont want to keep beating my baby... so i didnt wanna try it again above 7k. thanks again!

· Registered
3,883 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·