NewCelica.org Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
00 MRS - 2ZZ NA
4,137 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm still relatively new to stick shift, and as I did with automatic, I value smooth car rides with no jerks, so...

What methods do you guys suggest to have the smoothest shifts from 1st to 2nd gear on my 6 speed GT-S? Quick shifts before the rpm's fall? Or shifts with rev matching?

While it makes sense for me to do "gas out ~ clutch in ~ shift ~ clutch out ~ gas in" as quickly as possible, my father stresses to me that I should take my time and rev match with the gas a little while letting the clutch up for a smooth transition. I've been indecicive between the two methods while driving, and I become more inconsistant in smoothness when my mind thinks about it and alternates between the two.

Any suggestions? Thanks.

·
Registered
166 Posts
If you want it to be smooth then take your dads advice. Rev match.

·
Registered
2,541 Posts
Get out of the gas a hair sec after you begin pushing the clutch in, so the rpms climb a few hundred, then shift as normal.

·
Registered
521 Posts
The time it takes my engine to fall from 4k to 3k RPM is basically the same time it takes me to shift from 1st to 2nd, so they always match up for me.

I dont always shift at 4 exactly, just an example.

·
Registered
473 Posts
Get out of the gas a hair sec after you begin pushing the clutch in, so the rpms climb a few hundred, then shift as normal.
Isnt this the same as "riding" the clutch?
Instead let off the gas a hair sec before pushing in the clutch then depress the clutch all the way down, shift and now let the clutch out slowly while slowly givin her some gas. < you should feel the friction point of the clutch being engaged keep it there until the clutch is all the way up. Dont let it out too slow or to quick and do it smoothly! Manuals not hard at all just takes alitte practice.

·
Registered
118 Posts
Pulsar1 said: