NewCelica.org Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
572 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay. so my car is completely stock. i want to do some suspension mods first. my gt-s is a daily driver and i'd like something that will help the handling noticeably, but that has the least amount of height drop. btw, i'm not very experienced with suspension, especially since this is the 1st car i've considered modding, so if u could elaborate on ur suggestions (like why one's better than another) that would be really helpful to me. oh and ummm price.... let's say no more than $1500. any input is appreciated :thumbup:

-aaron

·
Registered
277 Posts
This is the order i would go;

1) New/Better Tires ($320) - No matter what you do to your suspension, unless your tires are respectable you won't be impressed. I was in that position when i installed a Hotchkis TVS 3 kit on my celica with worn stock tires - lol.

2) Hotchkis Street Sway Bars ($200) - These will put a smile on your face when you push your car hard around a corner. There are some other brands but i think hotchkis makes a good quality resonably priced combo. Bottle has the best deal i've seen on these.

3) Spring Strut Combo ($500) - I'm sorry I can't be more specific on the spring/strut combo - i have coilovers so i'm not to familiar with the other setup. But someone here will jump in.

4) Front Strut Bar ($150) - Go for one of the lower cost solid bars. They are stiffer and cost considerably less than something like the Hotchkis strut bar with built in camber plates. As you are not lowering your car much camber won't be a problem.

If your interested in getting your hands dirty i would suggest going and buying some good quality tools, jack, jackstands, and then doing the install yourself - its not hard you just need the right tools. For the same price as the install you'll get a bunch of tools and some valuable experience.

My 2 Cents.
-Aaron

·
Registered
572 Posts
Discussion Starter #6