NewCelica.org Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2000 GT-S 6 Speed TRD LSD Fidanza Flywheel MWR Oil Pump Gear BC Coilovers
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Today I finally started up my Celica after putting a new engine in it and I noticed this. I let it run for a minute and it warmed up fine and everything but once I rev'ed it a little it started doing this

It seems like the engine is going to die then the idle bumps up a bit then falls again and it just keep doing it over and over. Does anyone have any ideas what could be causing this? I just installed a new fuel pump but it was doing the same thing with the old pump. When I first got the car it had a code for a oxygen sensor so I think it could be something with that. I have a Autel tablet I've been using on it but I'm still a little new at it.

·
Registered
540 Posts
... if its a upstream o2 sensor then replace it thats ur air fuel ratio sensor. Also could be maf and or IAC valve. Could also be a vacuum leak.... more information is key.

2000 GTS Turbo

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I tried a different MAF and it worked better for a second but once the engine warmed up more it started doing it again

·
Electromagnetic Wave :-h
15,664 Posts
Not uncommon. Shutting off & restarting should clear it. Sometimes the ECU gets in a funky loop where it ramps the IACV up & down. Get a fairly stable idle & let it learn parameters.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
I checked the 2 black wires on the upstream o2 sensor and I could not get any ohms so I'm gonna ordered a new one.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·